F1: Set Up and Manage Your Course
Edit Multiple Due Dates
The Edit Dates report lets you review and update due dates, cut-off dates, and other timed events for multiple assignments, activities, or resources all on one screen. This feature is especially helpful if you’re reusing a previous course.
Instructions
-
- Log into Moodle and select your course from the Dashboard.
- Click Reports on the top green menu.
- Click Dates on the resulting screen.
- Click the drop down menu by Activity Type to filter your view by activity.
- Click your course sections to expand the content of each section, or click Expand All to view everything.
- The date options for each course item will be displayed under each item. Make adjustments as needed.
- When you’re done adjusting the date, click the blue Save changes button.
Adding a TA
A Teachers' Assistant (TA) can be added to courses to assist with various instructional duties.
Instructions
10 STEPS
1. The first step is to open the course and click Participants
2. Click Enrol users
3. Click Select users
4. Type the username/email address of your TA
5. Click the student's name
Note: Many students have similar names. Please be careful when choosing the student. The email address is the best unique identifier.
6. Click to the side to close the search box
7. Click in the Assign role drop-down menu
8. Select Teaching Assistant - Grading or Teaching Assistant - Editing
Grading allows your TA to enter grades, but not adjust course content. Editing gives your TA the same course content editing options that you have as the instructor.
9. Click Enrol users
10. That's it. You're done.
Important Notes
- You can view and edit your TA's role from the Participants list. Click the pencil to edit or remove their role.
- Follow the steps above for each additional course your TA needs access to.
- If working with separate groups within your course, make sure your TA is also a member of those groups.
Finding a Course
Courses in Moodle can be found on your Moodle Dashboard and on the Site Home page. Use the following tips to quickly find the course you're looking for.
- You can save your frequently used courses to the Starred Courses section of your dashboard by starring them. This will add them to the very top section of your dashboard. Courses can be starred and unstarred as the semesters change.
- The Recently accessed courses section of your dashboard automatically populates with the courses you use most often. You can use the arrows at the top right of the section to see additional courses.
- The Course Overview section shows all the courses that you're enrolled in as an instructor or student. Make sure the filter in the top left corner is set to All if you're looking for a course you've not accessed previously. There are arrows in the bottom right corner of this section to see all the pages.
- If you click Site Home from the menu on the left side of the page, there's a search bar that can be used to find courses that, for whatever reason, are not appearing on your Dashboard. The course number (i.e. EDT0001) is the most efficient search term for locating a course.
Open a Course for One Student
In general, courses should be hidden after they are completed. Sometimes, a student might need access to a closed course if they have an incomplete or are studying for their comprehensive exam. Instead of setting the course to view, which opens it up for all students, follow the directions below to open the course for an individual student. The access should be removed when the student no longer needs the content.
Instructions
Opening the Course
-
-
- Log into Moodle and click on the course you want to make visible to the student.
- From the course home page, click on Participants in the left hand menu.
- In the list, locate the student who needs access to the course.
- In the Roles column, click the pencil icon next to "Student".
- Click the down arrow to see the drop-down menu choices and choose Single Viewer.
- Click the save icon
-
Closing the Course
-
-
- Log into Moodle and click on the course you want to make visible to the student.
- From the course home page, click on Participants in the left hand menu.
- In the list, locate the student who needs access to the course removed.
- In the Roles column, click the pencil icon next to "Student".
- Click the x next to Single Viewer.
- Click the save icon
-