Monitoring Student Activity
What are "Blocks?"
Blocks are part of the Moodle Course Page. These areas give the user information at a glance. Courses are created with a default set of blocks enabled. There are additional blocks available. Blocks can be repositioned on the course page, or they may be deleted.
There are two Blocks that are very useful for monitoring what is going on in your course. Those Blocks are the recent Activity Block and the Online Users Block. Recent Activity is displayed by default. As things happen in the course, this block will display that for you. You can also get a report by clicking on the link that appears in the Block "Full report of recent activity...".
The Online Users block displays a list of students who are currently logged in to your course. This Block must be added if you wish to make use of it. The instructions for adding this Block follow.
Add a Block
Delete a Block
You may decide that you do not wish to use a Block, and want to remove it from the Course Page. Directions follow:
1. Turn Editing on (refer to step 1 of the directions above).
2. Locate the Block you wish to delete. Click on the "gear" icon. From the menu, select the last item "Delete ___ block".
3. Accept the confirmation dialog that appears. The Block is deleted. It may be re-added at any time.
Reports
Moodle provides several tools for giving you feedback about student activity. Moodle's Reports offers some useful information about student activity. Directions to access the Reports follows (clicking on an image will bring up a larger view in a new tab):
Logs
Moodle keeps logs of all activity in your course. You can view these logs. Logs enable you to see very granular information, and you have many options for viewing logs. Generally, the logs are used when you want information about a specific student for a specific reason. Directions:
1. Select Logs from the Reports section (refer to the directions above.)
2. You will see a dialog box where you have quite a few options. Note all the menus to select from. Make your selections. You will never hurt anything by viewing logs. However, Moodle will take more time to process logs when you leave selection criteria broad.